Topic 4: Searching and Evaluating Web Resources

   
 

Search Techniques:

Search Engines:

Directories:

Meta Searches:

 

Search Engines for Kids:

Kids Search Engines

Ask Jeeves for Kids: http://www.ajkids.com

KidsClick: http://www.kidsclick.org/

Awesome Library: http://www.awesomelibrary.org/

Education World: http://www.education-world.com/

Fact Monster: http://www.factmonster.com/

Family Source: http://www.family-source.com/

Kid Search Tool: http://www.rcls.org/ksearch.htm

Search Edu : http://www.searchedu.com/

Teach- nology: http://www.teach-nology.com/

Tech-mom search tool for kids: http://www.tekmom.com/search/

Dibdabdoo: http://www.dibdabdoo.com/

Yahooligans: http://www.yahooligans.com

Search Tutorials and Resource Evaluation:

 

Additional Sources not listed in the Reading Section:

Search Tutorial form University of South Carolina:
http://www.sc.edu/beaufort/library/pages/bones/bones.shtml

Internet Detective- Interactive tutorial on evaluating Internet resources:
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/desire/internet-detective.html

 

 

to the top…